OBAMA might have been a WAR HERO

OBAMA might have been a WAR HERO, if it had been convenient for him

The statement is thought to be the first time during the 19-month-long presidential campaign that the Democratic nominee for the White House has indicated he once wanted to serve in uniform. The aspiration was not mentioned in either of his two volumes of memoirs.
Mr. Obama was asked by George Stephanopoulos of ABC's "This Week" programme whether he'd ever thought about military service and replied:

"You know, uh uh ah um I actually did. I had to uh uh sign up ah for Selective um Service [a means of conscription in case of war] when I graduated from high high uh high school.”

"And I was growing up in Hawaii. And I have friends whose you know uh parents uh were in the military. There are a lot of uh Army, uh military bases there. [Navy and Marines as well.]
"And I actually always thought of the military as an ennobling and, you know, honourable option. But keep in mind that I graduated in 1979. The Vietnam War had come to an end. We weren't engaged in an active military conflict at that point. And so, it's not an option that I ever uh,,, decided to pursue."

Of course there was the Iranian hostage thing going on at the time. Good thing some youngsters were serving, even without the enticement of Viet Nam.

“Uh ya, but I had ah to um uh ah....”

And Beriut in 1983. Luckily, we still had some guys in the Marines at that time. Guys who had nothing to do.

“But I uh...”

And you were still young enough for Desert Storm in 1991. I mean, if you really wanted to fight.

“I I I uh was helping people learn to sign up for government programs in Chicago and uh showing them how to uh vote ah Dhimmi uh Democrat."