Letter to the Editor

Ellie Light
Dear People's Cube,

I've been living in your community and been a People's Cube reader for years. I've never written a letter to the editor before but I felt I needed to say a few words because so many people are turning against our president and this is very troubling to me.

A year ago if Obama had said that all we had to do was pass an economic stimulus plan, bail out failing companies that ordinarily would've gone into bankruptcy and have the government take over health care on the pretext that this would all jump start the economy we would've known we were being lied to. Back then, we recognized that the problems Obama inherited as president wouldn't go away overnight.

During his campaign, Obama clearly said that an economy that had been destroyed by years of Bush tax breaks and outdated free market principles couldn't be fixed in a year. Candidate Obama never feed us happy talk - which is why we elected him. He never led us in simple-minded chants of "Yes we can!" He never implied America could solve it's problems by waving a messianic personality like a magic wand. Instead he talked of hard choices and taking the difficult path. He always said that we would have to spend and spend and spend and never stop spending because that's what all his most trusted professors and friends assured him was what was needed to jump start the economy. He never imagined that so many people would sabotage his efforts. He never campaigned on anything other than straight talking truth. He didn't get elected because of stupid mindless cult of personality blather but for his hard-headed realism. He always said he would raise the deficit, not because that was the easy thing to do but because that was the difficult thing to do and we need to do the difficult thing because the difficult thing isn't the easy thing and Americans aren't afraid of doing the difficult thing which is why we went to the moon or something.